Looking for Wisdom? Welcome to The Fool Speaks: Magick, Mayhem, Goetia, and the Occult Forums!

You must register before you can post. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the list below.

Member Login:

Beginner's Magick Forum This is a safe haven for magick and occult newbies. The rest of the forums may bite, but here Izabael will assist with beginner's questions on magick and demonology (daemonology).

Old 03-20-2010, 04:58 AM   #1
Philoop

Default Getting more out of meditation

I meditate about every night. It may not be for a long time I usually do it for about a half before I fall asleep in bed. I find it helps with stress and relaxation. I achieve this through breathing techniques such as the four fold breath.I want to quit and find myself thinking of it as a chore to meditate. I dont want to quit, how can i Get more out of meditation?
Philoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 06:31 AM   #2
thorhammer

Hi, Philoop I'm no expert and quite new to the regular practice of meditation myself, but I find that it helps me to have an "objective" before I start. So, assumption of a God-form, or chanting IAO or the Ohm, or visualisation of simple geometric shapes. I haven't gone much beyond that at this point, though I have had some interesting chats with Hadit, Nuit, Babalon and Therion when I've meditated directly after doing a variation of the Lesser Banishing Ritual of the Pentagram. They're characters

At this point, I'm still reeling from the powerful messages I get when I assume the God-form of Hoor-Pa-Kraat, which was one of the suggested meditation focuses in Rodney Orpheus' Abrahadabra, which I found to be a fantastic book (in so far as it gave me a solid kick in the pants :P).

I'll be interested in the other replies you get to this, as I need to work on it myself
thorhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 05:57 AM   #3
ceewayne